America's Cup: Coutts hints at legal challenge
"Hate to agree, but it was outrageous. It's hard to imagine a court upholding that penalty"Featured comment
Team Oracle USA has looked increasingly threatening in the America's Cup.
But if the American's can't win it on the water, they may go legal.
In a New York Times article article published overnight, Team Oracle chief executive Russell Coutts is asked about the ruling that saw his team docked two points for cheating before racing began, and whether the American's could appeal.
“Well, we’ll wait and see won’t we?” Mr Coutts said. “I stick to what I said right at the beginning. I think the decision was outrageous.”
As Mr Coutts made his comments going into today's racing, Team NZ led Team Oracle 8-6.
Team Oracle USA won both of today's races to draw level at 8-8 in the first-to-9 series.
Discounting for the Americans' two-race penalty, Team Oracle has won 10 races to 8.
Racing will continue tomorrow, with each team needing one win to seal it. Legal challenges notwithstanding, that is.