CIO Awards 2014: Finalists revealed

Engaging Youth in ICT finalists, L-R: Frances Valentine, The Mind Lab; David Roberts, Fronde; James Grieve, ASB.
CIO of the Year finalists, L-R: Sarah Gardner; Sam Taylor, Westcon; Kevin Angland IAG; Bernard Seeto, IAG.
Emerging ICT Leader finalists, L-R: Michaela Brchlova, Hays; James Bergin, ASB; John Fitness, Financial Markets Authority; Neil Gong, NZMA; Mike Farrance, Hays. Missing Amanda White

The finalists have been revealed for The CIO Awards, in conjunction with the 2014 CIO Summit.

The CIO (chief information officer) Awards celebrate and recognise individuals and teams who have shown leadership, innovation and foresight in their contribution to ICT and business.


Emerging ICT Leader – Sponsored by Hays

The Emerging ICT Leader award recognises, celebrates and encourages the exceptional ICT Talent of professionals under the age of 35 years. We are looking for the future leaders of the ICT sector in New Zealand; people who have demonstrated outstanding ICT initiative.

  • James Bergin Chief Architect ASB
  • Neil Gong ISS Manager NZMA
  • Amanda White ICT Manager Marlborough Lines
  • John Fitness ICT Manager Financial Markets Authority

Engaging Youth In ICT – Sponsored by Fronde

This category showcases outstanding initiatives by private enterprise, public sector or academic institutions that encourage young people to learn about and successfully pursue careers in information technology. The aim is to encourage enterprises to take action to ensure a healthy future pipeline of ICT professionals.

  • ASB
  • The Mind Lab
  • AUT University 

CIO of the Year – Sponsored by Symantec

New Zealand’s CIO of the Year will demonstrate how they have positioned the role of CIO  strategically within the company. They will be able to show innovation and key successes achieved in the past 12 months and into the future and show how this fits with the company's overall business strategy.

  • Kevin Angland Chief Information Officer IAG
  • Channa Jayasinha Manager, Business Information & Technology (CIO) Wellington City Council
  • Marcus Lloyd Group IT Manager Te Runanganui o Ngati Porou

The winners will be announced at the CIO Awards Gala dinner on 11 June at Sky City in Auckland.

The CIO Summit is entering its eighth year in 2014 and during this time it has grown to become the foremost industry event for senior executives.

Over the years, the Summit has attracted international thought leaders including Facebook CIO Tim Campos, World Bank CIO Chris Vein and former NYSE CIO Steve Rubinow.

This year, it will be attended by more than 500 CIOs and executives, and speakers will include: Daniel Heaf, Chief Digital Officer for BBC Worldwide; Jeff Semenchuk, Chief Innovation Officer for Hyatt Hotels Corporation; and Peter Ennis, Former Executive Director – Technology and Broadcast for Al Jazeera Media Network.

NBR is the official media partner for the 2014 CIO Summit and CIO Awards. More:

Got a question about this story? Leave it in Comments & Questions below.

This article is tagged with the following keywords. Find out more about MyNBR Tags

NZ Market Snapshot


Sym Price Change
USD 0.7284 -0.0014 -0.19%
AUD 0.9192 -0.0012 -0.13%
EUR 0.6091 -0.0020 -0.33%
GBP 0.5364 -0.0010 -0.19%
HKD 5.6867 -0.0084 -0.15%
JPY 81.4110 -0.6400 -0.78%


Commodity Price Change Time
Gold Index 1290.6 -9.820 2017-09-21T00:
Oil Brent 56.1 0.160 2017-09-21T00:
Oil Nymex 50.5 -0.130 2017-09-21T00:
Silver Index 16.9 -0.316 2017-09-21T00:


Symbol Open High Last %
NZX 50 7795.4 7814.8 7795.4 0.25%
NASDAQ 6448.6 6448.6 6456.0 -0.52%
DAX 12569.7 12593.6 12600.0 -0.06%
DJI 22414.0 22419.5 22412.6 -0.24%
FTSE 7263.9 7263.9 7263.9 -0.11%
HKSE 27949.8 27960.9 28110.3 -0.72%
NI225 20413.6 20417.1 20347.5 -0.25%
ASX 5655.4 5688.2 5655.4 0.47%