Internet Party names the 15 on its list

Miriam Pierard: ex Green Party volunteer worker is number three
Musician and 'internet specialist' Chris Yong: number two


List rank. Name (electorate)
1. Laila Harré (TBA)
2. Chris Yong (Te Atatu)
3. Miriam Pierard (Auckland Central)
4. David Currin (Whangarei)
5. Beverley Ballantine (Ilam)
6. Gil Ho (Northcote)
7. Pani Farvid (Palmerston North
8. Patrick Salmon (East Coast)
9. Roshni Sami (Kelston)
10. Callum Valentine (Wellington Central)
11. Grant Keinzley (Taranaki-King Country)
12. Lois McClintock (Wigram)
13. Robert Stewart (Dunedin North)
14. Raymond Calver (Hamilton East)
15. Andrew LePine (Dunedin South)

See profiles here.

The Internet Party has revealed the 15 people who will stand on its list (above) and the electorates where they will stand.

The final lineup was decided by the party's executive, following the compilation of a short list decided by a popular vote among members.

The shortlist — here — included a number of colourful but otherwise low-profile characters. 

The one high-profile figure on the shortlist, Samoan hip hop artist Bill Urale (aka King Kapisi) failed to make the final 15, but the 40-year-old has been named the party's Youth Culture and Pasifika Ambassador.

As expected, leader Laila Harre tops the list, meaning she will get into Parliament if Mana leader Hone Harawira holds his Te Tai Tokerau seat (where he is in a close race with Labour's Kelvin Davis) and Internet Mana gets 1.4% or more of the list vote.

Number two is Chris Yong, who describes himself as a musician and "internet specialist". Ex-Green Party volunteer worker Miriam Pierard is number three.

Mana will have first, third and fourth positions on the list. The Internet Party taking second, fifth and sixth spots, with Ms Harré first off the rank if Mr Harawira holds his seat.

The two parties' partnership expires six weeks after the election.

Mr Dotcom, who has donated $3.25 million to his political venture, has previously said all candidates will be paid an equivalent salary to a backbench MP ($147,800 plus expenses).

A naked pitch for the Star Trek vote? The top 5's official photo.

Got a question about this story? Leave it in Comments & Questions below.

This article is tagged with the following keywords. Find out more about MyNBR Tags

NZ Market Snapshot


Sym Price Change
USD 0.7327 0.0000 0.00%
AUD 0.9211 0.0000 0.00%
EUR 0.6140 0.0000 0.00%
GBP 0.5434 0.0000 0.00%
HKD 5.7285 0.0000 0.00%
JPY 82.1000 0.0000 0.00%


Commodity Price Change Time
Gold Index 1293.3 6.130 2017-09-22T00:
Oil Brent 56.4 0.420 2017-09-22T00:
Oil Nymex 50.7 0.110 2017-09-22T00:
Silver Index 16.9 -0.034 2017-09-22T00:


Symbol Open High Last %
NZX 50 7795.4 7814.8 7795.4 0.25%
NASDAQ 6401.4 6429.5 6422.7 0.07%
DAX 12569.7 12646.6 12600.0 -0.06%
DJI 22334.1 22364.3 22359.2 -0.04%
FTSE 7263.9 7320.3 7263.9 0.64%
HKSE 27949.8 27960.9 28110.3 -0.82%
NI225 20413.6 20417.1 20347.5 -0.25%
ASX 5655.4 5688.2 5655.4 0.47%