Neighbourhoods getting fibre: Chorus releases 2014-16 rollout plan

Chorus today confirmed plans for the deployment of Ultra-Fast Broadband in years’ four and five of its fibre build programme.

The July 2014 to June 2016 plan will see Chorus begin work in the last of its 24 candidate areas, Waiheke Island in Auckland, as well as finishing work in nine other provincial towns and cities. These are Blenheim, Ashburton, Timaru and Oamaru by the end of June 2015 and Waiuku, Rotorua, Taupo, Greymouth and Queenstown by the end of June 2016. 

Years’ four and five of our build will see Chorus deploy fibre to over 250,000 New Zealand homes, schools, medical centres and businesses. This will bring the number of customers in Chorus areas who are able to connect to UFB to more than half a million, Chorus GM of infrastructure build Ed Beattie says.

“We plan to have completed around 57% of our UFB coverage target by June 2016.”  

By the end of 2019, Chorus will have extended the reach of its existing 29,000km fibre network to deploy UFB past more than 830,000 urban homes, businesses, schools, hospitals and medical facilities throughout New Zealand.

Years four and five deployment plans by candidate areacovering the build period from 1 July 2014 to 30 June 2016.

Auckland: some areas in Orewa, Red Beach, Whangaparaoa, Silverdale, Manly, Gulf Harbour, Torbay, Pinehill, Browns Bay, Northcross, Fairview Heights, Rothesay Bay, Murrays Bay, Mairangi Bay, Campbells Bay, Castor Bay, Milford, Greenhithe, Huapai, Kumeu, Hobsonville, Beach Haven, Hill Crest, Northcote, Massey, Te Atatu Peninsula, Chatswood, Birkenhead, Northcote Point, Bayswater, Belmont, Narrow Neck, Devonport, Stanley Point, Swanson, Ranui, Henderson, Kelston, New Lynn, Avondale, Point Chevalier, Western Springs, Grey Lynn, Mt Eden, Epsom, Parnell, Newmarket, Orakei, Mission Bay, Kohimarama, Saint Heliers, Glendowie, Glen Innes, Saint Johns, Meadowbank, Remuera, Eastern Beach, Mellons Bay, Howick, Highland Park, Half Moon Bay, Cockle Bay, Shelly Park, Golflands, Pakuranga Heights, Pakuranga, Dannemora, East Tamaki Heights, Flat Bush, Beachlands, Otara, Mt Wellington, Penrose, Otahuhu,  Mt Roskill, Three Kings, Mt Albert, Titirangi, Blockhouse Bay, Hillsborough, Onehunga, Clover Park, The Gardens, Manurewa, Clendon Park, Takanini, Papakura, Pahurehure, Rosehill, Red Hill, Drury and Panmure.

Pukekohe: some areas in North and Central Pukekohe.

Waiuku: some areas in North and South Waiuku.

Waiheke Island: some areas in Oneroa, Surfdale, Ostend and Onetangi.

Rotorua: some areas in Ngongotaha, Holdens Bay, Owhata, Lynmore, Ngapuna, Glenholme, Westbrook, Springfield, Western Heights, Pukehangi and Kawaha Point.

Taupo: some areas in Wharewaka, Rainbow Point, Richmond Heights, Hilltop and Nukuhau.

Whakatane: large parts of the Whakatane township.

Gisborne: some areas in Okitu, Outer Kaiti, Tamarau, Wainui, Inner Kaiti, Te Hapara, Awapuni and Riverdale.

Napier/Hastings: some areas in Bluff Hill, Ahuriri, Napier South, Marewa, Onekawa, Maraenui, Pirimai, Tamatea, Greenmeadows, Taradale, Flaxmere, Raureka, Mahora, North and North East Havelock North.

Feilding: large parts of Feilding.

Palmerston North: some areas in Kelvin Grove, Whakarongo, Roslyn, Terrace End, Hokowhitu, West End, Awapuni, Cloverlea.

Levin: large parts of Levin.

Masterton: some areas in Solway, Lansdowne, Kuripuni, and some Eastern and Western areas.

Kapiti Coast: some areas in Waikanae, Raumati Beach and Central and Eastern areas of Paraparaumu.

Wellington including Porirua, Upper and Lower Hutt: some areas in Paekakariki, Pukerua Bay, Plimmerton, Titahi Bay, Paramata, Whitby, Waitangirua, Porirua East, Tawa, Grenada Village, Johnsonville, Paparangi, Churton Park, Newlands, Ngauranga, Khandallah, Ngaio, Kelburn, Northland, Central Wellington Business District, Te Aro, Aro Valley, Mount Cook, Mount Victoria, Oriental Bay, Roseneath, Hataitai, Newtown, Maupuia, Mirimar, Seatoun, Moa Point, Lyall Bay, Brooklyn, Korokoro, Maungaraki, Alicetown, Petone, Woburn, Fairfield, Belmont, Epuni, Avalon, Naenae, Taita, Stokes Valley, Silverstream, Trentham, Elderslea, Kingsley Heights and Clouston Park.

Blenheim: some areas in Wither Hills and remaining parts of Redwoodtown.

Nelson: some areas in Atawhai, The Brook, Nelson South, Britannia Heights, Stepneyville, Marybank, Eastern Central Area, Tahunahui, Stoke and Eastern parts of Richmond.

Ashburton: some areas in Netherby and Allenton.

Timaru: some areas in Marchwiel, West End, Watlington and Redruth.

Oamaru: some areas in South Hill and Oamaru North.

Dunedin: some areas in Normanby, North East Valley, Dalmore, Roslyn, Belleknowes, Port Chalmers, Macandrew Bay, Company Bay, Waverley, Andersons Bay, Ocean Grove, Lawyers Head, Saint Kilda, Saint Clair, Kew, Caversham, Forbury, Corstorphine, Concord, Green Island, Faifield and Mosgiel.

Invercargill: some areas in Grasmere, Rosedale, Hargest, Waverley, Queens Park, Glengarry, Richmond, Georgetown, Appleby, Strathern and Kingswell.

Queenstown: some areas in Sunshine Bay, Fernhill, Kelvin Heights and in areas surrounding Frankton Road.

Greymouth: some areas in South Beach, Karoro, Cobden and Blaketown.


Login in or Register to view & post comments