Network for Learning board reappointments

Associate Education Minister Nikki Kaye today announced the reappointment of all the directors of crown company Network for Learning (N4L) whose terms expire in 2015.

“Having completed their first term, the inaugural board members have all been reappointed, with terms set so that succession can be phased,” says Ms Kaye.

“Chair Helen Robinson, Rick Shera and Linda Tame have been reappointed for a further three years; Deputy Chair Mark Yeoman and Humphrey Wikeepa for two years; and Martin Wylie for one year.

“Dr Karen Poutasi, who was appointed to the N4L board in June last year, has also been reappointed for a further two years, while Jack Matthews continues his current term.

“The government is investing more than $200 million in a managed network so that all state, state-integrated and partnership schools can have uncapped, safe and secure internet access funded by the crown.

“N4L is currently 18 months ahead of schedule rolling this out. More than 1800 schools have been successfully connected so far, and N4L expects around 90 per cent of schools will be connected by the end of this year.

“N4L is also working closely with the education sector to deliver Pond, an online learning hub designed to make it easier for teachers to find and share educational content and connect with their peers around the country.

“Pond has received a number of accolades, most recently being named the most innovative new initiative at this year’s Hi-Tech Awards.

“A panel of international and local judges described Pond as world-first and an example of true Kiwi ingenuity. They also noted that it has garnered international attention and admiration, and has the potential to positively impact every school and child in the country.”