New cronies for EQC quango

Sir Maarten Wevers will take over the role of chairman on August 1.

No one has a clue what they do, but the board of the Earthquake Commission has been shaken up.

Canterbury Earthquake Recovery Minister Gerry Brownlee today announced three new appointments to the board of the Earthquake Commission.

Out is retiring chairman Michael Wintringham and board member Denise Bovaird.

The newbies include Sir Maarten Wevers, who will take over the role of chairman on August 1.

Sir Maarten (61) is a diplomat and former public servant who has served as New Zealand's High Commissioner to Papua New Guinea and ambassador to Japan. 

He is currently the chief executive of the Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet.

Also enjoying a new fees income stream is former Vero chief executive Roger Bell, of Auckland.

The third appointee is Dr Alison O’Connell, an actuary, former insurance company executive and public policy specialist.

They join long-sitting members Keith Taylor, Peter Hughes, Trevor Burt, Russell Black, and Gordon Smith.

Directors are paid $21,000 each in base fees.