New Year Honours 2015: Arts, judiciary and politics

Actress Lisa Harrow, musicians Stan Wolfgramm and Mike Chun, and military historian Christopher Pugsley have received honours

Expatriate actress Lisa Harrow, musicians Stan Wolfgramm and Mike Chun, and military historian Christopher Pugsley have been recognised in the New Year Honours. 

Two former MPs, two judges and a former Law Commissioner have been made Companions to the Queen's Service Order.

Mike Chunn (Companion NZM) was an original member of Split Enz in the early 1970s and later played in Citizen Band until the early 1980s. He was general manager of the Australian Performing Rights Association from 1992 until retiring in 2003. Having struggled with agoraphobia, he has been involved in the promotion of mental health awareness,

Lisa Harrow (Officer NZM) has performed on the stage and screen for 50 years, appearing in more than 40 stage productions in the UK and the US. She has starred in a dozen films  (From a Far Country, Sunday, The Last Days of Chez Nous), played leading roles in television shows (Kavanagh QC, Ruth Rendell Mysteries, Nancy Astor), the latest being Step Dave. In her private life, she has a son with actor Sam Neill and in 1991 married US whale biologist Roger Payne.

Christopher Pugsley (Officer NZM) published his first book, Gallipoli: The New Zealand Story, in 1984 and has since written many more, mostly about World War I. Others include From Emergency to Confrontation: The New Zealand Armed Forces in Malaya and Borneo 1949-1966 (2003) and A Bloody Road Home: World War II and New Zealand’s Heroic Second Division (2014). He recently retired as senior lecturer in war studies at the Royal Military Academy Sandhurst, England.

Stan Wolfgramm (Member NZM) is the founder, director and executive producer of Drum Productions, which specialises in bringing mainstream and Pacific stories to New Zealand audiences through film, television and theatrical events. He led six seasons of the television show Pacific Beat’ from 2004-09,

QSO (Queen’s Service Order)
Judge Anthony Ford has been as a Judge of the Employment Court since 2010. He was appointed as a Justice of the Supreme Court of Tonga in 2000. In 2006 he was promoted to Chief Justice and President of the Court of Appeal of Tonga until returning to New Zealand in 2010.

Judge Bernard Kendall was appointed to the Auckland District and Family Courts in 1982 and retired in 2005, before being granted an acting warrant and serving in this capacity until 2011. He headed the Representation Commission on an unprecedented four separate occasions between 1997 and 2014, overseeing four reviews of parliamentary electoral boundaries.

Ross Robertson began his parliamentary career as the Labour Party representative for Papatoetoe in 1987 and then Manukau East from 1996 to his retirement in September 2014. In his last two terms in Parliament he was Assistant Speaker and most recently deputy chairman of the Officers of Parliament Select Committee.

Eric Roy was first elected to Parliament as the National representative for Awarua in 1993 and retired in 2014. He served two terms as a National list MP before becoming the elected member for the Invercargill electorate in 2005. During his parliamentary career he held the roles of Deputy Speaker, Assistant Speaker, Select Committee Chair and Junior Whip.

Warren Young has contributed to justice services, particularly law reform, for more than 35 years. He was director of the Institute of Criminology at Victoria University of Wellington and deputy president for the New Zealand Law Commission for six years. He instigated and led a major restructuring of the commission and several law reform projects. He is now group manager (operations) of the Independent Police Conduct Authority.