Tindall, Kirwan named in 'long list' for NZer of the Year

The 10 nominations will be cut to a shortlist of three

The judging panel of the KiwiBank-sponsored New Zealander of Year Awards has produced a “long list” of 10 from more than 230 nomnations.

They include businessman and philanthropist Sir Stephen Tindall, former All Black Sir John Kirwan and Law Commissioner Judge Peter Boshier.

Others are from the medical profession, education sector and community or charitable organisations.

The panel – made up of awards patrons, presenters, sponsors, community leaders and independent experts – will announce the final shortlist of three next month.

Those in the “long” list are:

Barbara Ala'alatoa: Principal, Sylvia Park School (Auckland)
Roana Bennett: Manager, Te Taumata oå Ngati Whakaue Trust (Rotorua)
Judge Peter Boshier: Law Commissioner (Wellington)
Julie Chapman: Chief executive and founder, KidsCan Charitable Trust (Auckland)
Sir John Kirwan: Rugby coach, mental health and depression awareness advocate (Auckland) 

Dr Susan Parry: Auckland City Hospital and Ministry of Health (Auckland)
Sharad Paul: Surgeon and skin cancer specialist (Auckland)
Sir Stephen Tindall: Founder, The Tindall Foundation (Auckland)
Cassandra Treadwell: Chief executive and founder, So They Can (Lower Hutt)
Cynthia Ward: True Colours Children's Health Trust (Hamilton)

The winner will be announced at a gala awards evening in Auckland on February 25, 2015.

Previous winners of the New Zealander of the Year Award are: Dr Lance O’Sullivan (2014), Dame Anne Salmond (2013), Sir Richard Taylor (2012), Sir Paul Callaghan (2011) and Sir Ray Avery (2010).

Other categories
The awards will also honour New Zealanders who have performed with distinction in five categories.  The semifinalists are:

University of Auckland Young New Zealander of the Year
Ben Dowdle (Auckland); Guy Ryan (Wellington); Tabby Besley (Wellington); Sebastian Hallum-Clarke (Wellington); Ella Yelich-O’Connor “Lorde” (Auckland); Jason Pemberton (Christchurch); Matt Strawbridge (Wellington); William Pike (Auckland); Te Rawhitiroa Bosch (Waikato); Henrietta McNeill (Invercargill); Malvindar Singh-Bains (Auckland).

Metlifecare Senior New Zealander of the Year
Donald Sew Hoy (Auckland); Dr Brian Broom (Auckland); Gaylene Preston (Wellington); Kerry Bensemann (Christchurch); Betty van Gaalen (Kapiti); Kai Luey (Auckland); Bob Robertson (Queenstown); Roger Robinson (Auckland); Tong Too (Napier).

Mitre 10 Community of the Year
Paihia!; VisionWest Community Trust (Auckland); Kidscan (Auckland/NZ); Central Lakes Trust (Otago); Givealittle (NZ); South Alive Invercargill; Community Fruit Harvesting (Auckland/NZ); Pathway Trust (Christchurch); Rural Women New Zealand (NZ); Te Whangai Trust (NZ).

1 comment
Login in or Register to view & post comments