New SOE chairs appointed

AsureQuality, Quotable Value, NZ Post appointments
Alison Watters

State Owned Enterprises Associate Minister Shane Jones and Finance Minister Grant Robertson have appointed three new SOE chairs.

Alison Watters will chair AsureQuality. Dr Watters has served on the AsureQuality board for over three years and as deputy chair for the past 18 months. She is a director of Livestock Improvement Corporation and was previously a principal research scientist for Fonterra Co-operative Group.

Dr Watters is appointed for three years from November 1, when current chair Janine Smith retires after nine years of service.

“Watters' knowledge of AsureQuality, experience in primary industries, and expertise in laboratory management sets her up well to lead the board,” Shane Jones said

Gregory Fortuin has been appointed chair of Quotable Value (QV from August 21, 2019 April 30, 2022.

Gregory Fortuin
Gregory Fortuin

“Shareholding ministers are keenly aware of issues QV has faced recently, including concerns over its revenue and reporting. These have been front of mind during the process of appointing a new chair,” Shane Jones said.

“Mr Fortuin brings Crown governance and business experience from a range of sectors to the QV board, and I am confident he has the skills to help return the business to a position of strength.” 

Mr Fortuin has been a director of NZ Post, Kiwibank Ltd, ACC, Transpower, Crown Forestry Rental Trust, Whitireia Community Polytechnic, Weltec and Catalyst Risk Management.  He chairs the Amanah NZ Ethical Kiwisaver Fund and is a strategic community adviser to the NZ Police Commissioner.

He has been a race relations commissioner and also honorary consul-general of the Republic of South Africa. 

His career has included senior roles at the NZ Salvation Army, and National Mutual Insurance in New Zealand, Australia, and South Africa.

Rodger Finlay has been appointed chair of NZ Post from August 21, 2019 to April 30, 2022. 

“Mr Finlay is a capable and experienced chair, who will bring strong governance and senior commercial experience to the NZ Post board at a time of significant challenge to its business models. He also brings skills that are relevant to NZ Post’s role as the majority owner of Kiwibank,” Jones said.

Rodger Finlay
Rodger Finlay

“Shareholding ministers are confident Mr Finlay can help guide NZ Post through the changing mail environment while ensuring a high standard of service is maintained, especially in the regions.”

To ensure he has the necessary time available for NZ Post, Mr Finlay will retire from his role as a governor on the board of Radio New Zealand Ltd at the earliest opportunity.

Mr Finlay has experience in leading companies through restructuring, and is currently serving as chair of PGG Wrightson, the Independent Advisory Panel of the Provincial Growth Fund and Mundane Asset Management.  

He is a director of Ngai Tahu Holdings, Rural Equities and RNZ. He has previously chaired NZ Oil and Gas and been a director of Tandou, Public Trust and NZ Thoroughbred Racing.

Mr Finlay’s executive career spanned 25 years and included senior roles in investment banking at UBS, Paribas Group SA, and Credit Suisse First Boston Ltd.

This is supplied content and not commissioned or paid for by NBR.