Paterson appointed to central bank board

Susan Paterson has a wealth of private sector experience.
Susan Paterson.

Director Susan Paterson has been appointed to the Reserve Bank board.

Finance Minister Grant Robertson said  Paterson had had a wealth of private sector experience. “She has also served on public sector boards, and has good knowledge of monetary policy as a former adviser to the Reserve Bank’s previous monetary policy committee,” Robertson said.

“She brings significant and senior governance experience, including on audit and risk committees, and good knowledge of governance oversight of a regulatory body.”

Paterson has senior executive experience in a number of companies in New Zealand, the US and Europe and is a professional director with over 20 years of governance experience. Previous Crown appointments include directorships of Airways (chair), the Tertiary Education Commission, Housing New Zealand, Transpower and the Energy Efficiency and Conservation Authority. She is a Member of the Electricity Authority and a director of Goodman Property, Eroad, Sky Network Television, Arvida, and Les Mills, and is chair of Theta Systems and Steel and Tube. Previous private directorships include Abano Healthcare Group, Ports of Auckland, Tower Health and Life, Auckland Regional Holdings and Americas Cup Village Ltd. She was also the Chair of the New Zealand Eco-Labelling Trust and recently an external advisor to the previous Reserve Bank monetary policy committee. She was made an officer of the NZ Order of Merit in recognition of her services to corporate governance in the New Year’s Honours 2015.

Paterson’s term begins on July 1. She replaces Keith Taylor, who is retiring after two terms on the board.

The changes mean the Reserve Bank board will have a gender balance for the first time in the bank’s 85-year history.

Robertson also reappointed Tania Simpson for a second term on the board.

This is supplied content and not commissioned or paid for by NBR.

Login in or Register to view & post comments