close
Columnist
Columnist

Christoph Schumacher

Christoph is a professor of innovation and economics at Massey University and the director of the Knowledge Exchange Hub.

He is the co-creator of GDPLive, the world's first real-time GDP tracker powered by artificial intelligence, and the New Zealand Shared Prosperity Index. 

Christoph is a microeconomist interested in theoretical and experimental game theory as well as machine learning, and has published in top international journals and in national outlets. He appears regularly on national radio and was a regular guest economist on TV3's current affair program Three60. He is the recipient of the Jan Whitwell Memorial Prize awarded by the New Zealand Association of Economists.

Christoph holds undergraduate and postgraduate degrees in engineering (Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Germany) and international business (The University of Auckland) as well as a PhD in economics (game theory, Massey University) and recently completed a certificate in big data and social analytics at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge, US.

Christoph Schumacher's Articles

High interest rates set to be around for longer

Read Article
Mon, 12 Feb 2024

New Government needs to optimise our economic engine

Read Article
Mon, 15 Jan 2024

Relative quiet on NZ home front still at risk from world events

Read Article
Mon, 27 Nov 2023

Economic recovery: Good fiscal policy or RBNZ tightening?

Read Article
Mon, 30 Oct 2023

Report card for government handling of economy for past term

Read Article
Mon, 02 Oct 2023

Performance pressure: parallels between NZ and Germany

Read Article
Mon, 04 Sep 2023

From Aristotle to austerity

Read Article
Mon, 07 Aug 2023

What’s with this ‘technical recession’?

Read Article
Mon, 03 Jul 2023

What does Govt being ‘more of a friend than foe’ to RBNZ mean?

Read Article
Tue, 06 Jun 2023

The economic cake: why we can’t both have it and eat it

Read Article
Wed, 10 May 2023

How Okun’s Law affects New Zealand

Read Article
Mon, 10 Apr 2023

The economic cost of NZ’s natural disasters

Read Article
Mon, 13 Mar 2023
Prev 1 2