close
Columnist
Columnist

Rachel Smalley

Rachel Smalley is a former host on Today FM, and a strategic communicator and creative and influential storyteller.  

She spent more than two decades working across all platforms of the media – television, radio, digital and print, most notably as a foreign correspondent for TV3 and as a host for a number of high-profile news, political and current affairs programmes.  

She was based in Europe for eight years reporting on several globally-significant events including elections in France and Britain, the conflict in Afghanistan and the London bombings. She also spent a week with Britain’s Law Lords at Downing Street reporting on the Privy Council hearing into the Bain family murders, and covered the 2008 election of Barack Obama from Washington DC.  

She’s also witnessed the rise and fall of a rabble of National and Labour leaders, and was a frontline reporter throughout the Christchurch earthquakes and the Pike River tragedy.  

In recent years, Rachel worked for NZME, during which she spearheaded a year-long fundraising campaign for World Vision reporting on the horror of the Syrian Refugee Crisis.  

 

Rachel Smalley's Articles

Dismantle Pharmac to make medicine procurement better run

Read Article
Mon, 08 May 2023

Green Party in self-sabotage mode

Read Article
Fri, 21 Apr 2023

Here Today, gone tomorrow

Read Article
Fri, 31 Mar 2023

Do corporates have a role in the ‘Posie Parker’ conversation?

Read Article
Fri, 24 Mar 2023

At Pharmac, sorry seems to be the hardest word

Read Article
Fri, 10 Mar 2023

OIA release timing reveals Pharmac’s broken culture

Read Article
Fri, 24 Feb 2023

Blistering pace for new PM Chris Hipkins

Read Article
Fri, 10 Feb 2023

Maybe ‘be kind’ isn’t such a terrible thing after all

Read Article
Fri, 27 Jan 2023

The election must be brought forward

Read Article
Fri, 20 Jan 2023

Pharmac’s self-righteousness backfires

Read Article
Fri, 09 Dec 2022

Time for National’s Nicola Willis to get into the ring

Read Article
Fri, 02 Dec 2022

Heidi’s death matters as much as her life

Read Article
Fri, 25 Nov 2022
Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6