close
Columnist
Columnist

Simon Bridges

Simon Bridges is a New Zealand leader and household name given his time in politics and his high media profile over many years.

 A lawyer turned senior National politician and MP for Tauranga, Simon held a raft of senior responsibilities in New Zealand politics, including as Leader of the National Party and of the Opposition.  

Prior to Parliament, Simon started his career in a national law firm and was then a Crown prosecutor for several years conducting many serious criminal jury trials.

Simon has an LLB (Hons) and BA from Auckland University, and a Bachelor of Civil law from Oxford University (where he met wife Natalie). In addition, Simon has studied at the London School of Economics and interned at the British House of Commons as part of a Chevening-Hansard Society Fellowship.

Recently retired from politics he is focusing on his commercial and media work and his family of Emlyn, Harry and Jemima. He enjoys board games, playing the drums, red wine, podcasts, and reading. 

Simon Bridges's Articles

Movies, gaming and Budget 2023

Read Article
Thu, 16 Mar 2023

We need to rebuild, whether it’s inflationary or not

Read Article
Thu, 02 Mar 2023

NZ population: let’s try for 10 million

Read Article
Thu, 16 Feb 2023

Let’s not make a Kiwi recession inevitable

Read Article
Thu, 02 Feb 2023

Wayne Brown must act: more progress needed

Read Article
Thu, 19 Jan 2023

Aussies show us up in the Pacific

Read Article
Thu, 22 Dec 2022

Transport and other moving issues

Read Article
Thu, 08 Dec 2022

It’s depressing out there, but NZ a safe haven in troubled times

Read Article
Thu, 24 Nov 2022

COP27, sensible climate policies call

Read Article
Thu, 10 Nov 2022

Creative NZ Shakespeare debacle tells us a lot about Aotearoa NZ

Read Article
Thu, 27 Oct 2022

Can Wayne Brown help Auckland get its mojo back?

Read Article
Tue, 11 Oct 2022

Recession or not, New Zealand should back itself

Read Article
Thu, 29 Sep 2022
1 2 3