2 mins to read

Internet Party names the 15 on its list

Thu, 19 Jun 2014


List rank. Name (electorate)
1. Laila Harré (TBA)
2. Chris Yong (Te Atatu)
3. Miriam Pierard (Auckland Central)
4. David Currin (Whangarei)
5. Beverley Ballantine (Ilam)
6. Gil Ho (Northcote)
7. Pani Farvid (Palmerston North
8. Patrick Salmon (East Coast)
9. Roshni Sami (Kelston)
10. Callum Valentine (Wellington Central)
11. Grant Keinzley (Taranaki-King Country)
12. Lois McClintock (Wigram)
13. Robert Stewart (Dunedin North)
14. Raymond Calver (Hamilton East)
15. Andrew LePine (Dunedin South)

See profiles here.

The Internet Party has revealed the 15 people who will stand on its list (above) and the electorates where they will stand.

The final lineup was decided by the party's executive, following the compilation of a short list decided by a popular vote among members.

The shortlist — here — included a number of colourful but otherwise low-profile characters. 

The one high-profile figure on the shortlist, Samoan hip hop artist Bill Urale (aka King Kapisi) failed to make the final 15, but the 40-year-old has been named the party's Youth Culture and Pasifika Ambassador.

As expected, leader Laila Harre tops the list, meaning she will get into Parliament if Mana leader Hone Harawira holds his Te Tai Tokerau seat (where he is in a close race with Labour's Kelvin Davis) and Internet Mana gets 1.4% or more of the list vote.

Number two is Chris Yong, who describes himself as a musician and "internet specialist". Ex-Green Party volunteer worker Miriam Pierard is number three.

Mana will have first, third and fourth positions on the list. The Internet Party taking second, fifth and sixth spots, with Ms Harré first off the rank if Mr Harawira holds his seat.

The two parties' partnership expires six weeks after the election.

Mr Dotcom, who has donated $3.25 million to his political venture, has previously said all candidates will be paid an equivalent salary to a backbench MP ($147,800 plus expenses).

A naked pitch for the Star Trek vote? The top 5's official photo.

© All content copyright NBR. Do not reproduce in any form without permission, even if you have a paid subscription.
Internet Party names the 15 on its list