3 mins to read

Prime Minister Bill English: majority of MPs publicly declare support

The MPs who supported him – and those who didn't.

Thu, 08 Dec 2016

The formal caucus vote won't take place until next Monday, but National's leadership contest is effectively over.

More than 30 National MPs have now publicly declared support for Bill English, giving him a majority (scroll down for a list of those who did — or didn't — publically express support).

Taranaki-King Country MP Barbara Kuriger tweeted her support at 1.12pm to put Mr English over the line. The finance minister started the day with only 10 MPs in the bag. But as National Party pollster David Farrar kept a very public tally ("Whomever gets to be No 30 gets to be In cabinet" he quipped at one point") the trickle became a deluge.

His actual level of support is likely higher. This morning NBR Political Editor Rob Hosking put it at around 40 of the 59-member caucus.

A grand total of zero MPs declared for Jonathan Coleman or Judith Collins.

Attention now turns to the race for deputy, where Simon Bridges is facing off against Paula Bennett — and where the outcome is much less certain. Mr English has not endorsed either candidate. Commentator Matthew Hooton thinks Mr Bridges has it by a nose (it was also not immediately clear if Ms Collins or Mr Coleman would join the deputy stoush).

Another open question was, "Who will be Finance Minister?" Mr English has just delivered the answer: Steven Joyce (for more, see Rob Hosking's report English picks Joyce for his finance minister, unveils large surpluses).

Mr English said earlier that he would yield the portfolio if elected leader.

Publically declared for Bill English

  1. John Key
  2. Bill English
  3. Nikki Kaye
  4. Michael Woodhouse
  5. Nathan Guy
  6. Nick Smith
  7. Anne Tolley
  8. Louise Upston
  9. Hekia Parata
  10. Murray McCully
  11. Simon Bridges
  12. Paul Goldsmith
  13. Nuk Korako
  14. Sarah Dowie
  15. Chester Borrows
  16. Paul Foster-Bell
  17. Paula Bennett
  18. Brett Hudson
  19. Jacqui Dean
  20. Jami-Lee Ross
  21. Todd Muller
  22. Amy Adams
  23. Chris Bishop
  24. Jo Hayes
  25. Mark Mitchell
  26. Chris Finlayson
  27. Jonathan Young
  28. Todd Barclay
  29. Alfred Ngaro
  30. Jono Naylor
  31. Barbara Kuriger
  32. Gerry Brownlee

Not publically declared support for any candidate

  1. Judith Collins*
  2. Jonathan Coleman*
  3. Steven Joyce**
  4. Maurice Williamson
  5. David Carter
  6. Peseta Sam Lotu-Iiga
  7. Maggie Barry
  8. Craig Foss
  9. Jo Goodhew
  10. Todd McClay
  11. Nicky Wagner
  12. Lindsay Tisch
  13. Tim Macindoe
  14. Melissa Lee
  15. Kanwaljit Singh Bakshi 
  16. Jian Yang
  17. David Bennett
  18. Ian McKelvie
  19. Simon O'Connor
  20. Scott Simpson
  21. Parmjeet Parmar
  22. Andrew Bayly
  23. Matt Doocey
  24. Shane Reti
  25. Alastair Scott
  26. Stuart Smith
  27. Maureen Pugh

* After dropping out this afternoon, after Bill English crossed the 30 threshold, Ms Collins recommended her supporters vote for Mr English. Later in the day, Mr Coleman did the same. But in terms of political brownie points, it only matters who endorsed the man from Dipton before he had the leadership in the bag. Matthew Hooton says the new leadership could be "somewhat vindictive," with Collins and Coleman effectively ruled out for promotion.

** Not everyone on the list will be in for some utu. It seems Steven Joyce, now of course the incoming finance minister, was remaining diplomatically neutral

© All content copyright NBR. Do not reproduce in any form without permission, even if you have a paid subscription.
Prime Minister Bill English: majority of MPs publicly declare support